I really hate not publishing an article between the weekly PoW, but I haven’t yet finished a post about Lake Trout in Upstate New York and I’ve come across two great shots that I wanted to share… So this week its a “double feature”.

The first shot is a Northern Pike of over 33 lbs. caught by Truls Svendsen who is 13 years old and lives in Norway. This is the biggest Pike ever caught in that country on a fly. He tied the fly himself and called it a “Muppet fly”. After catching this fish, and a few others (18 and 28 lbs.) his older brothers subsequently told him he could no longer fish with them…

33lb Northern Pike caught on "Pike Muppet" fly

33lb Northern Pike caught on "Pike Muppet" fly

The next shot is also from Finland. A fellow blogger, Simon Graham, loves to fish for pike as is a phenomenal photographer. I visit his blog to learn how to tie some fantastic flies, and mostly so see his amazing photography. You can see more of Simon’s photographic work at Fishing Blogdom.

kuusijarvi canoe

kuusijarvi canoe

Looking at this shot, I can almost sense the pike on the far shore and I can’t wait to go fishing again…

